Research: Books, Journals, Research@THEA & Examination Papers

A journal is a frequent publication containing up to date quality information relating to its subject.  Our journal collection is reference only, it comprises of both print and electronic journals relating to the various academic disciplines taught within LYIT's curriculum.  You may view the list of journal subscriptions here. 

All current journals are on display on the journal stands on the ground floor with relevant back issues archived within the library. Current design journals are also stored on the ground floor underneath the new books section.

The book collection comprises of 60,000 books, most of which are available for borrowing.  The library also hosts a selection of eBooks; further information on eBooks is contained here. 

The printed collection is mostly based on taught academic subjects but there are considerable sections devoted to cultural activities, the Irish language, history, sport and literature.

Special Collections in the Letterkenny Campus:

• Law reports dating back to 1558
• Law statues and Acts
• Projects and dissertations
• The Guinness food science collection
• Government, environment, business and company reports
• Irish language section based on the Donegal Gaeltacht
• Classical music collection
• Cahir Healy papers

Special Collections in the Killybegs Campus:

• Specialised books by famous French pastry chefs Bellouet and Perruchon
• Comprehensive collection of hospitality and tourism journals and periodicals
• Reports and statistical material dating back to 1980 on all aspects of international, national and regional tourism
• Donegal tourism section
• Irish and international standards for preparing, storing and cooking food

The library supplies material beyond taught courses such as history, travel, languages, cookery, horticulture, sport, music and literature.

Research@THEA

LYIT Library, in conjunction with all the Institutes of Technology libraries, launched the Research@THEA Institutional Repository in June 2017.  The repository showcases research and scholarly output by students and staff and hosts theses, journal articles and conference papers.  It enables e-publishing of research papers and other research outputs and may be accessed here.